I can’t call Mr. Smith; he’s gone to Washington. (Yes, you can! Here’s how!)

A facebook thread about the recent government debacle has inspired this post, which is all about easily finding out who to contact for all your government complaint needs.

The point of the facebook post was that everyone seems to be whining and name-calling (which I think is fair enough; if I weren’t getting paid, I would be  name calling all over the place) but very few people have taken the time to articulate their position and communicate it to their elected officials. One road block to this approach is that many people simply do not know how to figure out who represents them and how to get in contact with them. A second roadblock is that many people feel actually contacting their representatives has little or no effect. I’ll discuss that roadblock in another segment.

Roadblock 1: Who represents me?

Step 1: Figure out who your federal representatives and senator are.

So how do you do that? First, visit this website. (This link is for Arkansas folks, but you can head out to the home page to find your state).

Image

After putting in my address, this is what I got:

Image

Step 2: Figure out who your state representatives and senators are.

First, visit this website.

Image

This is what I got after I put in my address:

Image

Ok, now you know who represents you!

Step 3: Figure out how to contact them.

A really easy way to do this for the state folks is through the app “LobbyUp.”

screen320x480

For the federal folks:

Senators: http://www.senate.gov/general/contact_information/senators_cfm.cfm

Representatives: http://www.house.gov/representatives/find/

Lawyers love to talk. Let's talk!

