Let’s Catch Up!

hermit

Let’s Catch Up Real Quick

Heeeyyyy, oh my gosh, it’s been so long, I’ve been meaning to call! I’ve been so busy with the kids (2 kids ages 4 and 1) and shutting down my law firm.

Yes, shutting down a law firm is a lot of work. Like, way more work than setting one up. No one tells you that.

When I tell people that I decided to shut my firm down, most give me condolences akin to the death of a family member. To be sure, I felt like a failure when I decided to call it quits, but it had to happen for my sanity. But, at this point, I mostly just feel like jumping for joy.

Now that it’s not unusual for me to get at least 6 hours of sleep every night, I realize how terribly I was treating myself and I suffered and my family suffered because of it. I’m severely anemic and Vitamin D deficient, which already puts a crunch on my energy levels and I have a blood clotting disorder that doesn’t lend itself well to crazy stress. But…I’m a workaholic and can’t stop myself when I get started. Like, the bad kind of workaholic, not the interview kind. The kind that breaks up families, not the kind you joke about. In my old firm, I had protections built in for that. Every other attorney knew it was a real problem for me and if I was staying later than other people, a partner would double check that it was actually necessary. When I worked for myself, there was no check and no one else who knew what was actually necessary and what wasn’t.

I think, especially for a woman with two kiddos below¬†kindergarten and an attorney spouse, running a law firm and managing the business side of a firm is just asking too much of yourself. Especially in a practice as high volume and stressful as bankruptcy (and I was also running PR interference for a case with national international media attention). I don’t really regret trying it, although I would say it would’ve been better had attempted it once both kids were older than kindergarten.

Anyhow, if you are seriously considering going out on your own, call me first and let’s chat.

Ok, tomorrow you should look for the 2015 Pushing the Deadline Holiday Gift Guide for Lady Lawyers!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Let’s Catch Up!

  1. Completely understandable. By the way, this post seems to imply you may consider reopening in the future (once kids have grown up). Is that indeed the case?

  2. Hey Jennifer! Welcome back. I’ve missed your posts. Happy for you that you have life, health and work back in balance and just in time for the holidays.

Lawyers love to talk. Let's talk!

