2015 Pushin’ the Deadline Gift Guide for the Lady Lawyer

11643652_10100285176476036_1233114337_n

Ok, it’s already into the second week of December and if you haven’t grabbed that gift for the lady lawyer on your list, I’m here to offer suggestions with the help of a few of my friends: lady lawyers from across the country.

Planners

I’m a self-confessed planner nut, so this category makes the number one slot on my list. Most lawyers use a paper calendaring system and an electronic calendar (aka our phones). It’s just safer. As a wise man once told me: “The only thing you can screw up that I can’t fix is a deadline.”

I’ve used an Erin Condren planner for the past year and I have one waiting for me under the Christmas tree. I’m excited about the changes I’ve seen made (horizontal layout, less text for more flexibility) and I love the goodies and extras that come with every planner.  Order a generic planner now and they will send you a gift card for a personalized cover–which means you can still get it under the tree in time!

And, they have changeable covers, which means you can get festive all year long. I’m loving this New Years’ Cover:

ec party started

My second choice would probably be either the Inkwell or Simplified planners and I’ve heard positive things about the Day Designer from lawyer friends as well.

Inkwell makes journals of all sorts, but the quarterly journal may be particularly appealing to ladies looking to trim the bulk in their bags.

Current special for quarter bundle: $35.00

inkwell quarterly

They are currently sold out, but I’m sure a gift card would be appreciated; plus, they’ve got other great stuff, like a planner stamp! This is fantastic (hint-use chalk ink in a planner to ensure no bleed through):

Stamp: $7.00

planner stamp

Journals/Notebooks

Yes, lawyers love these. There is no such thing as too many. You’d be surprised how many we can get through in a year. First up is Inkwell Press again, with my two favorite designs: “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all,” and the honeycomb print. They have graph paper inside, which comes particularly in handy when you are trying to chart out a fire location or point of shooting. We live charmed lives, don’t we?

Each journal:  $17.00

 

Mousepad and Headphones

She doesn’t have to live in an office that looks like it was decorated by Charles Dickens himself. Help her say, “umm, no,” to that mousepad her client corporation gave her and yes to something beautiful!

jamie blawg

Jamie K. in Dallas, a bankruptcy attorney, writes: “I enjoy things that make my office feel more ‘me’ since it’s where I spend a ridiculous amount of time. Examples include this beautiful watercolor mousepad:

watercolor purple mousepad

Mousepad is $12.00 from courtneyoquist on easy.com

Rachel V., an attorney in Chicago says:

“I definitely agree with Jamie on personalization! Also, when I was still in an office, a good pair of ear buds were my best friend. Also, I always kept a blanket and small pillow hidden away in my desk…just in case.”

If the lawyer on your list has been very, very nice this year, allow me to recommend my headphones:

bo headphones

These are the Bang & Olufsen Play headphones, which are seriously like a slice of heaven on earth, and available through Amazon Prime 2 day shipping for $367.96.

Artwork

In the same thread, lawyers everywhere are looking to personalize that space they spend so much time in with unique art.

anne gift guide

Anne Milligan, a Portland-based labor law attorney, spends her day-dreaming minutes filling up a Pinterest board with art to buy for her office.

So far, she’s been very satisfied with her artwork from various artist, including Society6

cat with mouse

$16.00 for this print, which is currently in stock. You can’t go wrong.

 

Tiara

Everyone in our focus group of 8 lawyers agreed that a business tiara would be a welcome addition to their desks. For $11.95, she can own the Benevolent Queen of the Enchanted Business Forest Tiara from Bullish and rule her own (small) kingdom.

209ddc32-48c7-45cc-877c-e34db3f41c92_1024x1024

There are tons of other goodies on that site that my friends definitely wouldn’t say no to, as you can imagine just by looking at that tiara.

Happy Gift Giving!

Lawyers love to talk. Let's talk!

